The Prime Minister’s Awards Program

Best Teaching Practices Released!

Submitted by the Prime Minister’s Awards team

The Prime Minister’s Awards (PMA) for Teaching Excellence has just released their latest Exemplary Practices publication highlighting the innovative ideas and proven best practices of the 2014 national level winners. The publication is based on presentations made last October at the PMA “Teacher’s Talk” event moderated by CBC Education Columnist and Ottawa University Research Chair, Dr. Joel Westheimer.    

The PMA for Teaching Excellence highlight the importance of excellence and innovation in education and the development of skills students need for success in the digital and knowledge-based economy. Teachers are recognized for their leadership and effective teaching practices in areas including media awareness, cyber bullying and the safe and ethical use of the Internet—helping students to in turn become good cyber citizens.

Nominations for 2015 Now Open!

If you know a deserving teacher, consider nominating them for this national honour. Nomination packages for the 2015 PM Awards are available online at Teachers can be nominated by any person or group with direct knowledge of the nominee’s contribution (e.g. a parent, school principal, fellow teacher). The deadline for nominations is May 15, 2015.


Add new comment